When advertisers tried to reclaim “Like A Girl”…

9373e293a591cf5717bcaf87db6084f2The recent Super Bowl commercial #LikeAGirl has garnered a fair bit of attention from media critics, as it seems to reclaim the derogatory expression “like a girl” and promote girl power. This ad was one of the several that have been popping up in recent years, but I am wondering if it is really doing girls any good or promoting feminism.

Why #LikeAGirl and never #LikeAFeminist? If advertisers are already making a strategic effort to embrace girl power (so that they will grow up and become voracious consumers), what would encourage them to take another step further and reclaim the term “feminism”?

I’d love to hear your opinions on this matter. Did you watch this kind of girl power commercials growing up? How did they affect you and your gender identity? These “progressive” commercials weren’t available to me when I was little, so I am really curious and eager to know how you experienced watching them.

 

2 thoughts on “When advertisers tried to reclaim “Like A Girl”…

  1. I believe that anyone should be who they want to be and be proud of that. In this instance,I think it shows that girls will be who they are, they will be powerful, they will be proud. I see nothing wrong with it. I think it’s great.

    Like

  2. Thank you for your comment. I agree with you that there’s nothing wrong with encouraging girls to be whoever they want to be. The only concern I have is that advertisers are only sending that kind of message to girls as a strategy to sell a brand or a product. Just thinking about how advertisers are playing an increasingly important role as educators these days makes me very concerned. What’s your thought on this?

    Like

What do you think? Please comment.

